Who doesn’t want a white picket fence and 2.5 children?

What makes a couple leave a materialistic existence for the open road and almost no possessions? We all get caught up in the grind, the robotic and boring system of providing our basic needs with sustenance daily. We have very simple needs that keep us alive and kicking; food, water, a safe place to sleep and well, sex(and I hope it’s really good sex, because that is key). Then there’s things like rent and cell phones and shiny pretty things that for whatever reason we would die without. People need a gambit of electronics and technology to feel a certain sense of oneness with society. I haven’t felt this since I was a little bitty thing who was jealous of everyone and their shiny possessions, I want nothing to do with it.

To make this a bit more relate-able, I’ll let you in on a bit of what gets me engaged in society. I am a serious people watcher and appreciate those who stopped worrying about other peoples opinions of them.  You’r opinion of me is none of my business.  “Look at that mullet!” has come ripping out of my mouth loudly on more than one occasion and there have been pictures. I’m not even mad about it, I’m impressed! If you can proudly sport a mullet in this day and age, you deserve all the credit for confidence, truly.

I watch the way mothers treat their children, how that child treats the little boy next to them on the playground and that child in turn. I watch the way a finely dressed and polished man treats a waiter, reflect on how I’ve been treated over the years. Each action and interaction having an impact we know nothing about.  I’m thankful for them all, without the bad it’s not as easy to appreciate the good.

I have met some of the deepest souls in the most amazingly random moments, so I know you all are out there. Moments that make me wonder what I had done so right in the last week to deserve something so wholly satisfying to my soul. Universal signals that good reaps good and alternately bad reaps bad. I’ve definitely given in to the universe and sobbed apologies into a bottle of Jack a few times. I have really been a shit randomly, and I really am sorry for all of it.

For me, this decision is an easy one. Hands down the most exciting life I could imagine, mostly because I have no desire to live on the moon, sounds exciting but I just know that overall I prefer gravity! I want a deeper existence than the one I observe most people drudging though monotonously. Life these days revolves around things and drama. When you look at large scale reality this mindset leaves no space for deep/independent/critical thinking. Trump…. Ugh…. More generally speaking, for a majority accomplishment means expensive cars and watches, high end clothing lines and name brands. It’s watching the entitled populous thrust their hands forward for their deserved cookie in front of someone dying from starvation. Why? They woke up today, duh! That cookie belongs to them. Again, something I can’t relate to. And never want to.

I want to know how it feels to wake up in the morning, shake off the fucked up dream I just had and fling open a van door to look out over lakeofmydreamsmiddleofnowhere America. Accomplishment to me means knowing that the only obligation I have that day is to myself and my husband and to any wonderful soul reading about our adventure. When you are really honest with yourself, what does accomplishment look like to you? Can you see it? Or do you feel it in you’r heart?

I woke up one morning and decided it was time to bring my life to that place of self-loving.  To love myself completely and wholly.  It’s what I’m doing now, minus the lake and the freedom, I will never look back. I’m more in love with my self, my life and my husband than I have ever been. And correct me if I’m wrong here, but isn’t that what we all strive for? I wake up every day filled with love and creativity and ideas, my god, the ideas! I can’t make them stop, it’s amazing and fulfilling on such a spiritual level.

What changed in the last few months? Me. My perspective of everything. What money and things and negative relationships add to a life versus independence of money and possessions and committing to doing only the things that are enriching for your soul. If you can’t smile while you’re doing a particular thing, why are you doing it? Like the moment I’m in now; I’m writing for the first time in way too long, for a purpose greater than myself. I’m sitting in the sunshine, in a chair that apparently is where the gnats are doing their gnaty things today and I don’t even care because I’m feeding my soul. Bet your ass I’m smiling!

I am embracing this entire adventure so I can tell you all what it feels like to experience bliss everyday for at-least a year. Yes, we will have bad days, but that only means we’ll be exceptionally good at making up and starting over the next day. Which is also something I look forward to! I don’t feel like we were put here to work 40 hour weeks in some job that doesn’t satisfy us deeply. I feel like we were put here to experience a depth of life that is found organically. Loved ones and friends, those random tourists that showed up and rocked your world for two nights before heading off to their next whimsical adventure, the fucking mailman if he’s really cool.  And puppies.  I want everyone who reads this to know it’s possible, anything really is.

There is so much magic around us in nature and the human spirit but corporate America loves its sheeple and sheeple are blind. Don’t be a sheeple.  At the end of the day, I can confidently tell you all that I have, in fact, lost my mind, and getting rid of that particular mind has been the healthiest thing  I have ever done.  I highly recommend you try it!  Get right with your mind.  Get right with your soul.  Lose your mind in saturating your soul.

I hope everyone has a great week and thank you for tuning in!

Cheers!

Michele

 

 

Leave a Reply

